Author Interview: Jack Croxall

Hey guys. Hope you’re all good.

For this post, this Author Interview, I interviewed an author by the name of Jack Croxall who wrote a trilogy called ‘Tethers’.

Personally, I have recently begun communicating with Jack over Twitter after someone on there told me about him. Jack and I are both from Nottingham, England and after talking to him, I thought it would be cool to have be part of the PenScratch ‘Author Interview’ series.

A little about ‘Tethers’: ‘In the wake of a cold Victorian winter, Karl Scheffer and Esther Emerson discover an anonymous journal filled with strange passages and bizarre scribblings. The journal soon draws them into a covert and sinister conspiracy, a conspiracy centred around an otherworldly artefact with the power to change everything… ‘

Below is the interview.

Tell us a little about yourself and your background.

I was originally trained as an environmental scientist but I didn’t enjoy it much! I was the guy who wanted to talk about how pretty the tree blossom was, my peers wanted to measure its carbon content. I knew a life in the lab wasn’t for me so I got into writing.

How long have you been writing?

Since I could hold a pen! I used to make little books and magazines, mostly about dinosaurs and sharks – I remember there wasn’t much of a storyline, it was just FIGHT!

What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I’m working at moving from self-publishing into traditional publishing (easier said than oone), but really I just want to keep producing stories that actually mean something. This is my life after all. In the end marketability and sales come second to that.

What are you working on at the minute? What’s it about?

My next novel, Wye, is in edits at the moment. I’m just trying to get that in the best possible shape I can and then it’s on to the next novel – its working title is Adrift.

Where do your ideas come from?

They just seem to come out of nowhere! I’ll be walking the dog or washing up – something mundane like that – and I’ll suddenly think of something. I’ve since decided my subconscious must work it all out for me when I’m asleep!

Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer to just see where the story takes you?

A bit of both. I like to have a set of bullet points that drive the plot, but how I get from one bullet point to the next is more organic, almost playful really.

What is the hardest thing about writing for you?

The effort!

What is the easiest thing about writing for you?

The naps!

Do you read much? If so who are your favourite authors?

I read a lot, unsurprisingly. I try and read as many new authors as I can so I can keep learning new things. I do keep coming back to Philip Pullman though!

How time do you devote to marketing your book?

I spend time marketing every day, you have to if you want to sell more than twelve copies. Writing in the morning, marketing in the afternoon is a good strategy I find.

What are your opinions on fanfiction?

I like it (as long as it’s not overly gratuitous or overly sexual given my audience) I actually have had some  fanfiction written of my own work, one example of which I posted on my website here: http://jackcroxall.co.uk/mended-by-laura-lovelock-a-tethers-fan-fiction/

What is your view on social media for promoting your books?

Vital. It’s as simple as that

Which social network works best for you?

Twitter (combined with my blog) has always worked best for me. I’ve been at it for a few years now and, at the time of writing, I have 11.5k follower. That means the stuff I tweet has the potential to achieve a decent reach. Sadly that potential is not always realized though!

How can readers discover more about you and your work?

The best way is through my website jackcroxall.co.uk.

Thanks Jack.

You can also follow Jack on Twitter: @JackCroxall

Until next time guys.

Zuhaib

Tethers

Leave a Reply

