Update #1 – Z.N.Khan’s First Query Submitted and Some Venting

Hey there,

Just posted a tweet about this post. To clarify guys, the # stands for number and not a twitter hashtag like it so commonly is now.

Okay so onto the post topic.

So yesterday was, in part, a big day for myself. Yesterday I submitted my first query to a literary agent. A query e-mail, a synopsis and 3 chapters. Oh by first query, I mean first query with my current WIP. I have a whole folder in my inbox devoted to rejections from like the mid 2000s when my earlier work was rejected. I kept them. And now, some years later, I might be adding another one to the folder. I’m sufficiently nervous you guys.

Now, onto the venting.

The thing is, I’m also worried what being a disabled writer will mean if my work gets out there. Since I’d love to do book tours one day (fingers crossed) if given the opportunity, I’m not sure how possible that’ll be with regards to travelling in a wheelchair. This concerns me.

However, at the end of the day, what I want is for readers to read my work. I want my work to be out there and for people to be able to read about my characters. That’s the goal. Them being out there is what matters to me, much more than anyone knowing who I am.

So if they- the characters- get out there and the most I myself can do is virtual blog tours cos I can’t physically get to places or whatever, then that’s still something. And something awesome.

Besides, social media has made it so much easier to connect with readers and fans worldwide. So I’d still be able to do that.

You know, I’d love to be able to tour the UK and perhaps other places with my books, like some writers get to do. I don’t know if I’ll be able to. We’ll see I guess. Let’s hope for the best.

I have a horrible feeling the agent’s gonna say no anyway. I dunno. I’m not getting my hopes up too much. That way it’ll be less of a comedown if it actually is a rejection.

I’ve heard some people in the know say something about how you’ll get tons of no’s but it takes that one yes to get the ball rolling. Or that rejection is to be expected and makes you a real writer (although I think this is more of a joke).

So to say that I’m sorta nervous right now would really be an understatement. And there’s that anxiety about people potentially seeing my work for the first time and what they’ll think about it. First timers nerves. Of course not everyone’s gonna love it. But that’s what’s to be expected.

Having said that though, I’m a lot more prepared, a lot more mature to get this writer journey underway than I was when I got those other rejections. And if it’s a rejection, it’ll suck but the process’ll be repeated, hopefully with a different ending.

So the question right now is, will my writing ball get rolling from this one query?

I’ll let you know in a future update.

Take care guys.

Until next time,

Zuhaib

Leave a Reply

