Zuhaib’s Favourite Works of Fiction

Warning: Overuse of the words ‘awesome’, ‘good’ and ‘great’.

So here’s my list:

1. Harry Potter by JK Rowling – What can I say about this? HP pretty much started my writing journey. ‘Philosopher’s Stone’ had me attempting my first book and it was while reading ‘Deathly Hallows’ that I was inspired to begin my biggest project. Also, I started reading HP when I was going through a challenging time in my life and the world of Harry was somewhere I could escape to. HP’s really special to me. I’m a huge Potterhead, I still love the story and JK Rowling’s awesome. That’s why Harry Potter’s at the top of my list. The movies were great too.

The rest are not in any order.

2. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket – These really good books are not happy books. They’re the kind of books that had me desperately hoping for a happy ending for the characters and groaning in despair whenever the evil Count Olaf showed up in disguise. I can’t remember if I finished the entire series but the books I read I thought were tragically awesome. The movie wasn’t bad either.

3. The Noughts and Crosses trilogy by Malorie Blackman – These books portrayed racism but from the perspective of black people or ‘Crosses’ being the ‘superior’ race over white people or ‘Noughts’. The novels tell the story of Sephie, a Cross and Callum, a Nought and their relationship. It was happy and it was sad. I brought the trilogy earlier in the year to read again but haven’t got found to it yet. Great books.

4. The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien – I recently finished listening to this book on audiobook this year. I loved this book. The characters, the depth, the plot, the songs. Initially I had trouble getting through it because it’s a more difficult book to read than what I’m used to but I completed it and loved it. Awesome. The films have been great up to now too with the last one looking to be just as good if the trailer is any indication.

5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky – This book was really good but really sad. I liked Charlie, the protagonist. I felt bad for him too. Some great quotes. The film version was really good as well.

6. Hamlet, Macbeth and Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare – Okay so, along with novels, I also really like plays but I can’t do justice to how awesome these plays are in only a few words. At school, I loved studying Shakespeare. It was interesting figuring out the meaning behind some of the scenes and dialogue sequences. The stories and characters were/are intriguing. Really cool.

7. A View From the Bridge by Arthur Miller and 8. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck.- Both plays, both awesome. I studied both these at school. Like I said above, I like studying plays and these were great to read and work on. Two completely different but compelling stories with interesting and thought provoking characters.

And that’s my list.

Until next time,

Zuhaib

Leave a Reply

